Vegan Bibimbap

I have only had bibimbap once, in Japan.  Luke and I felt like walking around after everyone else had gone to bed, so we wandered around a main street full of pachenko parlors and closed shops before we found an empty bar.  We ordered beer and bibimbap.  I honestly don’t even remember what it was like, all I remembered was the name!  And how we got in trouble when we went back to the house.  We were staying at Mizuka’s parents’ house and they had gotten worried.

This is my interpretation of bibimbap, made with baked tofu, mixed greens, a salad of carrots and cucumbers, brown rice and this recipe for Kochu Chang.  It was delicious!  I marinated the tofu in soy sauce, toasted sesame oil, garlic and ginger for a couple hours, then popped it in the oven at 400 for about half an hour.  I made the carrot and cucumber salad the day before.  I salted it, let it sit in the fridge overnight and then drained it and tossed it with sesame oil a few hours before I ate.  And because I can’t keep my mind on one continent, I drank yerba mate while waiting for the tofu to bake.

One response to “Vegan Bibimbap

  1. This looks absolutely delish! I had not even heard of bibimbap before and I am going to try out this recipe soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

